Puppeteer Go

Ich liebe Puppenspieler - hier kann ich mit den Ideen von The Headless Web - der das Web in einem Browser ohne sichtbaren Browser DOM-curl und sogar Tools wie DOM-curl (Curl, der JavaScript DOM-curl ) erstellt. Ich liebe es, Skripte für den Browser zu erstellen, um Seiten zu bearbeiten und mit ihnen zu interagieren.

Eine Demo, die ich machen wollte, wurde von Capturing 422 live images Post inspiriert, in dem sie ein Puppenspielskript Capturing 422 live images , das zu vielen Seiten navigierte und einen Screenshot machte. Anstatt auf viele Seiten zu gehen, wollte ich viele Screenshots von Elementen auf der Seite machen.

Das Problem, das ich mit Puppeteer habe, ist die Eröffnungs-Strophe, die Sie brauchen, um etwas zu tun. Starten, Tab öffnen, navigieren - es ist nicht komplex, es ist nur mehr Boilerplate, als ich für einfache Skripte erstellen möchte. Deshalb habe ich Puppeteer Go . Es ist nur ein kleines Skript, mit dem ich auf einfache Weise CLI-Dienstprogramme erstellen kann. Es öffnet den Browser, navigiert zu einer Seite, führt Ihre Aktion aus und bereinigt sich anschließend von selbst.

Hör zu.

const { go } = require('puppeteer-go');

go('https://paul.kinlan.me', async (page) => {
    const elements = await page.$$("h1");
    let count = 0;
    for(let element of elements) {
      try {
        await element.screenshot({ path: `${count++}.png`});
      } catch (err) {
        console.log(count, err);
      }
    }
});

Der obige Code findet das Element h1 in meinem Blog und macht einen Screenshot. Dies ist bei weitem nicht so gut wie die Arbeit von Ire, aber ich fand es klasse zu sehen, ob wir Screenshots von canisuse.com schnell direkt von der Seite ziehen können.

const { go } = require('puppeteer-go');

go('https://caniuse.com/#search=css', async (page) => {
    const elements = await page.$$("article.feature-block.feature-block--feature");
    let count = 0;
    for(let element of elements) {
      try {
        await element.screenshot({ path: `${count++}.png`});
      } catch (err) {
        console.log(count, err);
      }
    }
});
4.png
3.png
2.png
1.png
0.png

Genießen!

Paul Kinlan

Trying to make the web and developers better.

RSS Github Medium

Puppeteer Go

I love Puppeteer - it lets me play around with the ideas of The Headless Web - that is running the web in a browser without a visible browser and even build tools like DOM-curl (Curl that runs JavaScript). Specifically I love scripting the browser to scrape, manipulate and interact with pages.

One demo I wanted to make was inspired by Ire’s Capturing 422 live images post where she ran a puppeteer script that would navigate to many pages and take a screenshot. Instead of going to many pages, I wanted to take many screenshots of elements on the page.

The problem that I have with Puppeteer is the opening stanza that you need to do anything. Launch, Open tab, navigate - it’s not complex, it’s just more boilerplate than I want to create for simple scripts. That’s why I created Puppeteer Go. It’s just a small script that helps me build CLI utilities easily that opens the browser, navigates to a page, performs your action and then cleans up after itself.

Check it out.

const { go } = require('puppeteer-go');

go('https://paul.kinlan.me', async (page) => {
    const elements = await page.$$("h1");
    let count = 0;
    for(let element of elements) {
      try {
        await element.screenshot({ path: `${count++}.png`});
      } catch (err) {
        console.log(count, err);
      }
    }
});

The above code will find the h1 element in my blog and take a screenshot. This is nowhere near as good as Ire’s work, but I thought it was neat to see if we can quickly pull screenshots from canisuse.com directly from the page.

const { go } = require('puppeteer-go');

go('https://caniuse.com/#search=css', async (page) => {
    const elements = await page.$$("article.feature-block.feature-block--feature");
    let count = 0;
    for(let element of elements) {
      try {
        await element.screenshot({ path: `${count++}.png`});
      } catch (err) {
        console.log(count, err);
      }
    }
});
4.png
3.png
2.png
1.png
0.png

Enjoy!

Picture of me smiling.

Paul Kinlan

I lead the Chrome Developer Relations team at Google.

We want people to have the best experience possible on the web without having to install a native app or produce content in a walled garden.

Our team tries to make it easier for developers to build on the web by supporting every Chrome release, creating great content to support developers on web.dev, contributing to MDN, helping to improve browser compatibility, and some of the best developer tools like Lighthouse, Workbox, Squoosh to name just a few.

RSS Github Medium