domcurl: curl + JavaScript

Paul Kinlan
Available in: English (Original) Español Français 日本語 मानक हिन्दी русский язык tiếng Việt தமிழ் bahasa Indonesia

Ich habe lange darüber nachgedacht, wie die Zukunft des Internets aussieht, wenn wir an dem vorbeiziehen, was wir als traditioneller Webbrowser kennen. Ich nannte dies The Headless Web und ich wollte antworten “Was wäre, wenn alles von ‘The Web’ betrieben würde, aber Sie haben nie einen Browser gesehen?”. Insbesondere glaube ich, dass, wenn Sie Zugriff auf einen vollständigen Browser haben, aber nicht sichtbar für “Chrome”, dann gibt es eine große Chance für eine neue Reihe von Diensten.

Using the browser as a service is an incredible opportunity. It allows us to take the declarative HTML and combine it with the developer defined procedural execution of JavaScript and run deep analysis on the content.

Running a browser on the server will allow us to more easily build services which parse data that is generated dynamically, it will allow us to more easily us run our own logic against the logic in a page (form fill as an example) and I believe that it will open up the ability to more effectively run actions against data embedded on the page.

Es hat eine Weile gedauert, aber ich denke, wir kommen dorthin.

Ich bin verliebt in Puppenspieler. Puppeteer ist eine JavaScript-Bibliothek, die auf dem Chrome Dev Tools-Protokoll basiert und es Ihnen ermöglicht, den Chrome-Browser zu automatisieren und zu skripten.

Meine tägliche Arbeit beinhaltet eine Menge Debugging von Webservern und Sicherstellung. Wie viele Entwickler verwende ich curl, um Anfragen an einen Webserver zu stellen und die Antwort zu überprüfen. Es ist ein erstaunliches Dienstprogramm, aber in der heutigen Welt bauen viele Entwickler Websites, die mit viel JavaScript erstellt werden, und das macht es unmöglich, die vollständige Antwort zu überprüfen.

Ich entschied mich dafür, ein cUrl-ähnliches Hilfsprogramm zum Abrufen einer Ressource und zum Ausführen des JavaScript auf der Seite mit dem Namen domcurl zu erstellen.

domcurl ist eine kleine NodeJS-Anwendung, die Puppeteer verwendet und mit folgendem Befehl installiert werden kann:npm i domcurl. Wie beim curl-Befehl können Sie eine einfachedomcurl [url]ausgeben, um die Ressource zu holen und den JS auf der Seite auszuführen.

Es repliziert nicht alle “Curl”, aber es ist ziemlich voll mit den folgenden Features.

  • Geben Sie eine URL an, die abgerufen werden soll. d. h. domcurl [url] * Überprüfen Sie die Antwortheader mit -v. “domcurl -v [url]* Setze Cookies mit "-b", d. h. "domcurl [url] -b" test = hallo; Domain = airhorner.com; HttpOnly; " -b "Hallo = Welt; Domäne = airhorner.com; HttpOnly;" * * Fügen Sie benutzerdefinierte Header mit dem Argument "-H" hinzu. * Setzen Sie STDOUT manuell mit-ound STDERR mit –stderr`

Ich finde es ziemlich nützlich, obwohl es die Ergebnisse nicht wie curl streamen kann, weil es darauf warten muss, dass CSS und JS heruntergeladen und ausgeführt werden.

Ich habe mir außerdem die Freiheit genommen, ein paar zusätzliche Funktionen hinzuzufügen, die spezifisch für JavaScript und Chrome sind.

  • Ausgabe einer Chrome Dev Tools-Trace-Datei (einschließlich Bildschirm-Hotspots). Domcurl --url https://example.com --trace test.json * Fügen Sie es als JavaScript-Modul ein, wenn Sie es in ein beliebiges integrieren müssen Ihrer bestehenden Anwendungen.
const {domcurl} = require('domcurl');
domcurl(`https://paul.kinlan.me/`, {});

Während dieses Tool eher eine Demo als ein Full Service ist, denke ich, dass The Headless Web reifer wird und Tools wie Puppeteer und andere werden uns helfen, die anhaltende Macht des Webs zu realisieren. Wir müssen nur dafür bauen.

Paul Kinlan

Trying to make the web and developers better.

RSS Github Medium

domcurl: curl + JavaScript

Paul Kinlan

For a long time I’ve been thinking about what the future of the web looks like when we go past what we know as the traditional web browser. I called this The Headless Web and I wanted to answer was “What if everything was powered by ‘The Web’, but you never saw a browser?“. Specifically I believe that if you have access to a full browser, but no visible to “chrome” then there is a huge opportunity for a new set of services.

Using the browser as a service is an incredible opportunity. It allows us to take the declarative HTML and combine it with the developer defined procedural execution of JavaScript and run deep analysis on the content.

Running a browser on the server will allow us to more easily build services which parse data that is generated dynamically, it will allow us to more easily us run our own logic against the logic in a page (form fill as an example) and I believe that it will open up the ability to more effectively run actions against data embedded on the page.

It’s taken a while, but I think we are getting there.

I’m enamored by Puppeteer. Puppeteer is a JavaScript library that sits on top of the Chrome Dev Tools protocol and it allows you to automate and script the Chrome browser.

My day-to-day work involves a lot of debugging web servers and ensuring. Like many developers I use curl to make requests to a web server and check the response. It’s an amazing utility, however in today’s world many developers are building sites that are built using a lot of JavaScript and this makes it impossible to inspect the complete response.

I decided to create a cUrl-like utility for fetching a resource and running the JavaScript on the page called domcurl.

domcurl is a small NodeJS application that uses Puppeteer and can be installed by issuing the following command: npm i domcurl. Like the curl command you can issue a simple domcurl [url] to fetch the resource and run the JS on the page.

It doesn’t replicate all of curl, but it is quite featureful with the following features.

  • Specify a url to fetch. i.e, domcurl [url]
  • Inspect the response headers with -v. i.e, domcurl -v [url]
  • Set cookies with -b i.e, domcurl [url] -b "test=hello; Domain=airhorner.com; HttpOnly;" -b "hello=world; Domain=airhorner.com; HttpOnly;"
  • Add custom headers using the -H argument.
  • Manually set the STDOUT with -o and STDERR with --stderr

I’m finding it quite useful eventhough it can’t stream the results like curl can because it has to wait for the CSS and JS to be downloaded and executed.

I also took the liberty to add a couple of extra features that are specific to JavaScript and Chrome.

  • Output a Chrome Dev Tools trace file (including screens hots.) domcurl --url https://example.com --trace test.json
  • Include it as a JavaScript module if you have the need to integrate it into any of your existing applications.
const {domcurl} = require('domcurl');
domcurl(`https://paul.kinlan.me/`, {});

Whilst this tool is more of a demo than a full service, I think The Headless Web is maturing and tools like Puppeteer and others are going to help us realize the continued power of the web. We just need to build for it.

Paul Kinlan

Trying to make the web and developers better.

RSS Github Medium