Idle observation: Indexing text in images

Я был с мальчиками в Llangollen на днях (это красивый город), и я снимал информационные знаки, содержащие некоторую историю этого района, чтобы я мог прочитать это позже, и я думал, что я буду смотреть на Интернет, чтобы увидеть, была ли информация доступна не только людям, проходящим мимо знака - и это не так. Затем я подумал о листовках, содержание которых в Интернете практически невозможно найти.

Я не уверен, что многие люди заботятся о тексте на изображениях и делают его доступным для поисковых систем и пользователей, которые испытывают трудности при чтении, но это кажется довольно хорошей победой для привлечения большего количества контента в Интернет, а также для улучшения доступа к информации для все.

Вспоминая поездку в Google 4 India в 2018 году, я отчетливо помню, что Google определила, что многие издатели журналов и газет в Индии работают только в автономном режиме, то есть у них нет веб-присутствия, поэтому они создали инструмент называемый Navlekhā который позволяет им легко выводить PDF-файлы своего контента в Интернет с помощью функции обнаружения текста и ряда других вещей. Это не миллион миль от того, что я хочу сделать …

Я вернулся и попытался использовать инструмент extract text from images , который я написал в extract text from images месяце, чтобы посмотреть, как он работает с изображениями, которые у меня есть, с информационными знаками, и работает довольно хорошо (для часового проекта). Проверьте это.

Я наполовину соблазняюсь запустить небольшой сайт, который представляет собой просто набор фотографий знаков и помещает текст в форму, которая доступна и индексируется.

Римские сады

Твердыня гражданской войны

Между 1642 и 1646 годами Англию раздирала гражданская война между роялистами и парламентариями. Вопросы на карту были фундаментальными. Они были о соответствующих правах и ролях короля и парламента и религиозной идентичности королевства. Этот ожесточенный конфликт заставил всех выбирать стороны, разделяя королевство и даже разделяя семьи

Роялисты и парламентарии боролись за контроль над такими великими городами, как Честер, потому что они были богаты жизненно важными ресурсами, такими как деньги, еда, оружие и рабочая сила. Честер был особенно важным городом из-за его стратегического местоположения и его прекрасной защиты. Это была самая большая крепость на северо-западе Англии, и она контролировала маршруты в северный Уэльс, Шотландию и Ирландию.

С исчезновением короля Бреретон вернулся и удвоил свои усилия по захвату Честера. Его артиллеристы беспощадно бомбардировали город, а на сторожевой башне слева от вас все еще видны следы, по которым их пушечные ядра попадают домой.

Байрон отказывался сдаваться, и Роялисты продолжали контратаковать, но их положение было безнадежным. Честерское продовольствие было отрезано, а солдаты и горожане умерли от голода. Байрон, наконец, сдал Честер Бреретону, который взял под свой контроль город 3 февраля 1646 года.

Честер был оплотом роялистов, но к 1644 году большая часть Чешира была под контролем парламентариев, которые осадили город. В центре конфликта были два совершенно разных человека. Роялистский гарнизон Честера командовал сэр Джон, лорд Байрон - крепкий кавалер с боевым шрамом на лице. Парламентарии возглавлял сэр Уильям Бреретон - ревностный пуританин, который создал сеть шпионов, чтобы подорвать дело роялистов в Чешире. Байрон и Бреретон уже сталкивались ранее, в Битвах за Мидлвич (выиграл Роялисты) и Нантвич (выиграл Парламентарии).

К этому времени конец первой английской гражданской войны был близок. Парламент теперь контролировал северо-запад и подходы к северному Уэльсу, не позволяя Чарльзу отправлять подкрепления из Ирландии. Киннг сдался 5 мая 1646 года.

В сентябре 1645 года король Чарльз возглавил спасательную миссию в Честере с 4000 кавалерией, но его армия потерпела поражение в соседней битве при Роутон-Мур 24 сентября. Чарльз бежал в Уэльс на следующий день, оставив Честера на произвол судьбы.

Saliety, Лондон

Осада Честера, сентябрь-декабрь 1645 г.

Picture of me smiling.

Paul Kinlan

I lead the Chrome Developer Relations team at Google.

We want people to have the best experience possible on the web without having to install a native app or produce content in a walled garden.

Our team tries to make it easier for developers to build on the web by supporting every Chrome release, creating great content to support developers on web.dev, contributing to MDN, helping to improve browser compatibility, and some of the best developer tools like Lighthouse, Workbox, Squoosh to name just a few.

RSS Github Medium

Idle observation: Indexing text in images

I was out with the boys in Llangollen the other day (it’s a beautiful town) and I was taking pictures of the informational signs containing some of the history of the area so that I could read it later, and I thought that I would look on the web to see if the information was available for more than just the people walking past the sign - and it’s not. I then got thinking about the leaflets, the content in them is nearly impossible to find on the web.

I’m not sure many people care about the text in images and making them available to search engines and users who struggle to read, but it seems like a pretty good win for bringing more content to the web, and also improving access to information for everyone.

Reflecting back on a trip to Google 4 India in 2018, I distinctly remember that Google had identified that many publishers of magazines and news papers in India are offline-only, that is, they don’t have a web presence so they created a tool called Navlekhā which enables them to bring the PDF’s of their content to the web easily via Text Detection and a number of things. It’s not a million miles from what I want to do…

I went back and tried to use my extract text from images tool that I wrote the other month to see how it works on images that I have of information signs, and it works pretty well (for an hour project). Check it out.

I’m half tempted to start up a small site that is just a collection of photos of signs and puts the text in form that is accessible and index-able.

Roman Gardens

Civil War Stronghold

Between 1642 and 1646 England was torn apart by a civil war between Royalists and Parliamentarians. The issues at stake were fundamental. They were about the respective rights and roles of the King and Parliament, and the religious identity of the kingdom. This bitter conflict forced everyone to choose sides, splitting the kingdom and even dividing families

Royalists and Parliamentarians struggled for control of great cities like Chester because they were rich in vital resources like money, food, weapons and manpower. Chester was an especially important city because of its strategic location and its fine defences. It was the greatest fortress in north-west England, and it controlled the routes to north Wales, Scotland and Ireland.

With the King gone, Brereton returned and doubled his efforts to capture Chester. His gunners bombarded the city mercilessly, and on the watchtower to your left you can still see the marks where their cannonballs hit home.

Byron refused to give up, and the Royalists continued to make counter-attacks, but their position was hopeless. Chester’s food supplies were cut off, and soldiers and townspeople were starving to death. Byron finally surrendered Chester to Brereton, who took control of the city on February 3rd 1646.

Chester was a Royalist stronghold, but by 1644 much of Cheshire was controlled by the Parliamentarians, who laid siege to the city. At the centre of the conflict were two very different men. Chester’s Royalist garrison was commanded by Sir John, Lord Byron - a tough Cavalier with a battle-scarred face. The Parliamentarians were led by Sir William Brereton - a zealous Puritan who had built up a network of spies to undermine the Royalist cause in Cheshire. Byron and Brereton had already clashed before, at the Battles of Middlewich (won by the Royalists) and Nantwich (won by the Parliamentarians).

By this time the end of the first English Civil War was close. Parliament now controlled the North-West andd the approaches to north Wales, preventing Charles from shipping reinforcements over from Ireland. The Kinng surrendered on May 5th 1646.

In September 1645 King Charles led a rescue mission to Chester, with 4,000 cavalry, but his army was defeated at the nearby Battle of Rowton Moor on September 24th. Charles fled to Wales the next day, leaving Chester to its fate.

Saliety, London

The siege of Chester, September- December 1645

Paul Kinlan

Trying to make the web and developers better.

RSS Github Medium