Object Detection and Augmentation

Ich habe viel mit dem [Shape Detection API](https://paul.kinlan.me/face-detection/ https://paul.kinlan.me/barcode-detection/ https://paul.kinlan.me/detecting-text-in-an-image/) in Chrome [Shape Detection API](https://paul.kinlan.me/face-detection/ https://paul.kinlan.me/barcode-detection/ https://paul.kinlan.me/detecting-text-in-an-image/) und ich mag das Potenzial, das es bietet, sehr. Zum Beispiel ein sehr einfaches QRCode detector ich vor langer Zeit geschrieben habe, verfügt über eine JS-Polyfill, verwendet jedoch die new BarcodeDetector() API, falls verfügbar.

Einige der anderen Demos, die ich hier aufgebaut habe, können Sie mit den anderen Funktionen der Face Detection API sehen: Face Detection , Barcode Detection und Text Detection .

Ich war angenehm überrascht, als ich am Wochenende über Jeeliz stolperte, und ich war unglaublich beeindruckt von der Leistung ihres Toolkits - vorausgesetzt, ich habe einen Pixel3 XL verwendet, aber die Erkennung von Gesichtern schien wesentlich schneller zu sein, als dies mit der FaceDetector API möglich FaceDetector .

Checkout some of their demos .

Ich habe viel darüber nachgedacht. Dieses Toolkit für die Objekterkennung (und ähnliche) verwendet APIs, die im Web allgemein verfügbar sind, insbesondere Camera access, WebGL und WASM. Diese Funktionen unterscheiden sich von der Shape-Erkennungs-API von Chrome (die nur in Chrome und nicht auf allen Plattformen, auf denen sich Chrome befindet, konsistent sind ) kann verwendet werden, um auf einfache Weise umfassende Erfahrungen zu erstellen und Milliarden von Benutzern mit einer konsistenten Erfahrung auf allen Plattformen zu erreichen.

Augmentation ist der Punkt, an dem es interessant wird (und wirklich das, was ich in diesem Beitrag vorzeigen wollte) und wo Sie Middleware-Bibliotheken benötigen, die jetzt auf die Plattform kommen. Wir können die lustigen, sneakers-ähnlichen Gesichtsfilter-Apps erstellen, ohne dass Benutzer MASSIVE-Apps installieren das Sammeln einer riesigen Datenmenge vom Benutzergerät (da dem System kein Zugriff zugrunde liegt).

Außerhalb der lustigen Demos können sehr fortgeschrittene Anwendungsfälle für den Benutzer schnell und einfach gelöst werden, z.

  • Textauswahl direkt von der Kamera oder Foto vom Benutzer
  • Live-Übersetzung von Sprachen aus der Kamera
  • Inline QRCode Erkennung, damit die Leute nicht ständig WeChat öffnen müssen :)
  • Extrahieren Sie Website-URLs oder Adressen automatisch aus einem Bild
  • Erkennung von Kreditkarten und Entnahme von Nummern (Benutzer können sich schneller auf Ihrer Website anmelden)
  • Visuelle Produktsuche in der Web-App Ihres Shops.
  • Barcode-Suche nach weiteren Produktdetails in der Web-App Ihres Stores.
  • Schnelles Zuschneiden von Profilfotos auf die Gesichter von Personen.
  • Einfache A11Y-Funktionen, damit der Benutzer den in Bildern gefundenen Text hören kann.

Ich habe gerade fünf Minuten damit verbracht, über diese Anwendungsfälle nachzudenken - ich weiß, dass es noch viel mehr gibt -, aber es hat mich aufgefallen, dass wir nicht viele Websites oder Web-Apps sehen, die die Kamera verwenden Benutzer müssen eine App herunterladen, und ich denke nicht, dass wir das noch tun müssen.

** Update ** Thomas Steiner in unserem Team erwähnte in unserem Team-Chat, dass es klingt, als würde mir die aktuelle ShapeDetection API nicht gefallen. Ich liebe die Tatsache, dass diese API uns Zugriff auf die The Lumpy Web Versandimplementierungen der jeweiligen Systeme The Lumpy Web Wie ich jedoch in The Lumpy Web schrieb, The Lumpy Web Webentwickler nach Konsistenz in der Plattform und es gibt eine Reihe von Problemen mit der Shape-Erkennungs-API zusammengefasst werden als:

  1. Die API ist nur in Chrome verfügbar
  2. Die API in Chrome unterscheidet sich auf allen Plattformen erheblich, da die zugrunde liegenden Implementierungen unterschiedlich sind. Android hat nur Punkte für Orientierungspunkte wie Mund und Augen, wo macOS Konturen hat. Bei Android gibt TextDetector den erkannten Text zurück, wohingegen er wie bei macOS einen 'Text Presence'-Indikator zurückgibt. Dabei werden nicht alle Fehler erwähnt, die Surma gefunden hat.

Das Web als Vertriebsplattform ist für Erfahrungen wie diese so sinnvoll, dass ich denke, es wäre ein Verdammnis, es nicht zu tun, aber die obigen zwei Gruppierungen von Fragen lassen mich die langfristige Notwendigkeit der Implementierung jedes Features in Frage stellen Die Webplattform nativ, wenn wir gute Lösungen in einem Paket implementieren könnten, das mit den heutigen Funktionen der Plattform wie WebGL, WASM und der zukünftigen Web-GPU ausgeliefert wird.

Jedenfalls liebe ich die Tatsache, dass wir dies im Internet tun können, und ich freue mich darauf, Websites mit ihnen zu sehen.

About Me: Paul Kinlan

I lead the Chrome Developer Relations team at Google.

We want people to have the best experience possible on the web without having to install a native app or produce content in a walled garden.

Our team tries to make it easier for developers to build on the web by supporting every Chrome release, creating great content to support developers on web.dev, contributing to MDN, helping to improve browser compatibility, and some of the best developer tools like Lighthouse, Workbox, Squoosh to name just a few.

Object Detection and Augmentation

I've been playing around a lot with the [Shape Detection API](https://paul.kinlan.me/face-detection/ https://paul.kinlan.me/barcode-detection/ https://paul.kinlan.me/detecting-text-in-an-image/) in Chrome a lot and I really like the potential it has, for example a very simple QRCode detector I wrote a long time ago has a JS polyfill, but uses new BarcodeDetector() API if it is available.

You can see some of the other demo's I've built here using the other capabilities of the shape detection API: Face Detection,Barcode Detection and Text Detection.

I was pleasantly surprised when I stumbled across Jeeliz at the weekend and I was incredibly impressed at the performance of their toolkit - granted I was using a Pixel3 XL, but detection of faces seemed significantly quicker than what is possible with the FaceDetector API.

Checkout some of their demos.

It got me thinking a lot. This toolkit for Object Detection (and ones like it) use API's that are broadly available on the Web specifically Camera access, WebGL and WASM, which unlike Chrome's Shape Detection API (which is only in Chrome and not consistent across all platforms that Chrome is on) can be used to build rich experiences easily and reach billions of users with a consistent experience across all platforms.

Augmentation is where it gets interesting (and really what I wanted to show off in this post) and where you need middleware libraries that are now coming to the platform, we can build the fun snapchat-esque face filter apps without having users install MASSIVE apps that harvest huge amount of data from the users device (because there is no underlying access to the system).

Outside of the fun demos, it's possible to solve very advanced use-cases quickly and simply for the user, such as:

  • Text Selection directly from the camera or photo from the user
  • Live translation of languages from the camera
  • Inline QRCode detection so people don't have to open WeChat all the time :)
  • Auto extract website URLs or address from an image
  • Credit card detection and number extraction (get users signing up to your site quicker)
  • Visual product search in your store's web app.
  • Barcode lookup for more product details in your stores web app.
  • Quick cropping of profile photos on to people's faces.
  • Simple A11Y features to let the a user hear the text found in images.

I just spent 5 minutes thinking about these use-cases — I know there are a lot more — but it hit me that we don't see a lot of sites or web apps utilising the camera, instead we see a lot of sites asking their users to download an app, and I don't think we need to do that any more.

Update Thomas Steiner on our team mentioned in our team Chat that it sounds like I don't like the current ShapeDetection API. I love the fact that this API gives us access to the native shipping implementations of the each of the respective systems, however as I wrote in The Lumpy Web, Web Developers crave consistency in the platform and there are number of issues with the Shape Detection API that can be summarized as:

  1. The API is only in Chrome
  2. The API in Chrome is vastly different on every platforms because their underlying implementations are different. Android only has points for landmarks such as mouth and eyes, where macOS has outlines. On Android the TextDetector returns the detected text, where as on macOS it returns a 'Text Presence' indicator... This is not to mention all the bugs that Surma found.

The web as a platform for distribution makes so much sense for experiences like these that I think it would be remiss of us not to do it, but the above two groupings of issues leads me to question the long-term need to implement every feature on the web platform natively, when we could implement good solutions in a package that is shipped using the features of the platform today like WebGL, WASM and in the future Web GPU.

Anyway, I love the fact that we can do this on the web and I am looking forwards to seeing sites ship with them.

About Me: Paul Kinlan

I lead the Chrome Developer Relations team at Google.

We want people to have the best experience possible on the web without having to install a native app or produce content in a walled garden.

Our team tries to make it easier for developers to build on the web by supporting every Chrome release, creating great content to support developers on web.dev, contributing to MDN, helping to improve browser compatibility, and some of the best developer tools like Lighthouse, Workbox, Squoosh to name just a few.