Object Detection and Augmentation

Я много играл с [Shape Detection API](https://paul.kinlan.me/face-detection/ https://paul.kinlan.me/barcode-detection/ https://paul.kinlan.me/detecting-text-in-an-image/) в Chrome, и мне очень нравится его потенциал, например, очень простой QRCode detector я написал давным-давно, имеет полизаполнение JS, но использует new BarcodeDetector() API, если он доступен.

Вы можете увидеть некоторые другие демонстрации, которые я построил здесь, используя другие возможности API обнаружения формы: Face Detection , Barcode Detection и Text Detection .

Я был приятно удивлен, когда наткнулся на Jeeliz на выходных и был невероятно впечатлен производительностью их инструментария - разумеется, я использовал Pixel3 XL, но обнаружение лиц казалось значительно быстрее, чем это возможно с API FaceDetector .

Checkout some of their demos .

Это заставило меня много думать. Этот инструментарий для обнаружения объектов (и подобных ему) использует API-интерфейсы, которые широко доступны в Интернете, в частности доступ к камере, WebGL и WASM, что в отличие от Chrome Shape Detection API (которое имеется только в Chrome и не совместимо на всех платформах, на которых работает Chrome). ) можно легко использовать для создания богатого опыта и охвата миллиардов пользователей с единообразным опытом на всех платформах.

Расширение - это то, где это становится интересным (и действительно то, что я хотел показать в этом посте), и где вам нужны библиотеки промежуточного программного обеспечения, которые сейчас выходят на платформу, мы можем создавать забавные приложения для настройки лица в стиле Snapchat, не заставляя пользователей устанавливать MASSIVE приложения которые собирают огромное количество данных с устройства пользователя (потому что нет доступа к системе).

Помимо забавных демонстраций, можно быстро и просто решить очень сложные варианты использования, такие как:

  • Выбор текста прямо с камеры или фото от пользователя
  • Живой перевод языков с камеры
  • Встроенное обнаружение QRCode, чтобы людям не приходилось постоянно открывать WeChat :)
  • Автоматическое извлечение URL сайта или адреса из изображения
  • Обнаружение кредитной карты и извлечение номера (чтобы пользователи быстрее регистрировались на вашем сайте)
  • Визуальный поиск товаров в веб-приложении вашего магазина.
  • Поиск штрих-кода для получения дополнительной информации о продукте в веб-приложении вашего магазина.
  • Быстрая обрезка фотографий профиля на лицах людей.
  • Простые функции A11Y, позволяющие пользователю услышать текст, найденный на изображениях.

Я просто потратил 5 минут на обдумывание этих вариантов использования - я знаю, что их гораздо больше - но меня поразило, что мы не видим много сайтов или веб-приложений, использующих камеру, вместо этого мы видим, что многие сайты спрашивают их пользователи загружают приложение, и я не думаю, что нам нужно больше это делать.

** Обновление ** Томас Штайнер в нашей команде упомянул в ShapeDetection нашей команды, что, похоже, мне не нравится текущий API ShapeDetection . Мне нравится тот факт, что этот API дает нам доступ к собственным реализациям доставки каждой из соответствующих систем, однако, как я писал в The Lumpy Web , веб-разработчики жаждут согласованности в платформе, и с API Shape Detection существует ряд проблем, которые могут быть обобщено как:

  1. API есть только в Chrome
  2. API в Chrome сильно отличается на всех платформах, потому что их базовые реализации различны. Android имеет только точки для таких ориентиров, как рот и глаза, где у macOS есть контуры. В Android TextDetector возвращает обнаруженный текст, в то время как в macOS он возвращает индикатор «Text Presence» ... Это не говоря уже о всех ошибках, обнаруженных Surma.

Сеть как платформа для распространения имеет такой смысл для такого опыта, что я думаю, что было бы упущением с нашей стороны не делать этого, но две вышеупомянутые группы вопросов заставляют меня усомниться в долгосрочной необходимости реализации каждой функции на веб-платформа изначально, когда мы могли бы реализовать хорошие решения в пакете, который поставляется с использованием функций платформы сегодня, таких как WebGL, WASM и в будущем Web GPU.

В любом случае, мне нравится тот факт, что мы можем сделать это в Интернете, и я с нетерпением жду возможности увидеть, что сайты будут с ними.

About Me: Paul Kinlan

I lead the Chrome Developer Relations team at Google.

We want people to have the best experience possible on the web without having to install a native app or produce content in a walled garden.

Our team tries to make it easier for developers to build on the web by supporting every Chrome release, creating great content to support developers on web.dev, contributing to MDN, helping to improve browser compatibility, and some of the best developer tools like Lighthouse, Workbox, Squoosh to name just a few.

Object Detection and Augmentation

I've been playing around a lot with the [Shape Detection API](https://paul.kinlan.me/face-detection/ https://paul.kinlan.me/barcode-detection/ https://paul.kinlan.me/detecting-text-in-an-image/) in Chrome a lot and I really like the potential it has, for example a very simple QRCode detector I wrote a long time ago has a JS polyfill, but uses new BarcodeDetector() API if it is available.

You can see some of the other demo's I've built here using the other capabilities of the shape detection API: Face Detection,Barcode Detection and Text Detection.

I was pleasantly surprised when I stumbled across Jeeliz at the weekend and I was incredibly impressed at the performance of their toolkit - granted I was using a Pixel3 XL, but detection of faces seemed significantly quicker than what is possible with the FaceDetector API.

Checkout some of their demos.

It got me thinking a lot. This toolkit for Object Detection (and ones like it) use API's that are broadly available on the Web specifically Camera access, WebGL and WASM, which unlike Chrome's Shape Detection API (which is only in Chrome and not consistent across all platforms that Chrome is on) can be used to build rich experiences easily and reach billions of users with a consistent experience across all platforms.

Augmentation is where it gets interesting (and really what I wanted to show off in this post) and where you need middleware libraries that are now coming to the platform, we can build the fun snapchat-esque face filter apps without having users install MASSIVE apps that harvest huge amount of data from the users device (because there is no underlying access to the system).

Outside of the fun demos, it's possible to solve very advanced use-cases quickly and simply for the user, such as:

  • Text Selection directly from the camera or photo from the user
  • Live translation of languages from the camera
  • Inline QRCode detection so people don't have to open WeChat all the time :)
  • Auto extract website URLs or address from an image
  • Credit card detection and number extraction (get users signing up to your site quicker)
  • Visual product search in your store's web app.
  • Barcode lookup for more product details in your stores web app.
  • Quick cropping of profile photos on to people's faces.
  • Simple A11Y features to let the a user hear the text found in images.

I just spent 5 minutes thinking about these use-cases — I know there are a lot more — but it hit me that we don't see a lot of sites or web apps utilising the camera, instead we see a lot of sites asking their users to download an app, and I don't think we need to do that any more.

Update Thomas Steiner on our team mentioned in our team Chat that it sounds like I don't like the current ShapeDetection API. I love the fact that this API gives us access to the native shipping implementations of the each of the respective systems, however as I wrote in The Lumpy Web, Web Developers crave consistency in the platform and there are number of issues with the Shape Detection API that can be summarized as:

  1. The API is only in Chrome
  2. The API in Chrome is vastly different on every platforms because their underlying implementations are different. Android only has points for landmarks such as mouth and eyes, where macOS has outlines. On Android the TextDetector returns the detected text, where as on macOS it returns a 'Text Presence' indicator... This is not to mention all the bugs that Surma found.

The web as a platform for distribution makes so much sense for experiences like these that I think it would be remiss of us not to do it, but the above two groupings of issues leads me to question the long-term need to implement every feature on the web platform natively, when we could implement good solutions in a package that is shipped using the features of the platform today like WebGL, WASM and in the future Web GPU.

Anyway, I love the fact that we can do this on the web and I am looking forwards to seeing sites ship with them.

About Me: Paul Kinlan

I lead the Chrome Developer Relations team at Google.

We want people to have the best experience possible on the web without having to install a native app or produce content in a walled garden.

Our team tries to make it easier for developers to build on the web by supporting every Chrome release, creating great content to support developers on web.dev, contributing to MDN, helping to improve browser compatibility, and some of the best developer tools like Lighthouse, Workbox, Squoosh to name just a few.